Talent on the Net

You know, I’ve always prided myself for being able to do a lot of things. I’m pretty handy in the kitchen (baking, cooking, and cleaning up after doing either) and in the garden (thanks to my Dad for my greenthumb). I also have a knack in the area of arts and crafts. Unfortunately, there’s one thing that I wish I have the talent for: SINGING.

Sure, I’ve mastered the art of holding a guitar as if I can play even one decent song without missing a beat. I also know how to hold up the microphone and appear as if I can belt out whatever Mariah Carey song is playing on the karaoke. The sad truth is 1) I’m still a novice when it comes to the guitar, and 2) I have a greater chance of waking up tomorrow and weighing the same weight as I did about 10 years ago which is not that bad of a trade off…

But, yes, there’s a but, I love music. I love to sing even if I sing off key sometimes. I love to strum the guitar even if half of the time, it’s not music to my ears. Most of the time, I don’t really care. Heck, I’ll sing and play the guitar like crazy. But then, sometimes, when I hear someone sing…I just feel…um, a little bit envious. Realizing that my family sings well, with the exception of yours truly, does not help either.

So what does a girl with a lot of time in her hands do [as of press time]? Stalk Watch people on the internet, especially on Youtube. I’ve watched videos upon videos of very talented people but these two young ladies really caught my attention: (I think it’s because of the guitar and the voice envy).

Her video was shown to me by my sister Katkat (who doesn’t know how to speak but can understand Tagalog). I don’t know much about her but I know she composes and her own songs and plays the guitar very well. I like her voice, she sound so sincere, very angelic.

And then this other girl, Esmée, whom I am susbcribed to. I “discovered” her by accident while Katkat (again), was browsing videos of people singing “Irreplaceable.” I was so impressed that I subscribed to her channel. It turned out her channel is one of the most subscribed channel on youtube and she even got interviews on TV. This is my favourite video of her so far:

Also, while you’re on her page, don’t forget to check her most recent video out. You’ll be surprised who was singing with her. (Hint: A certain eyecandy😉 ) .

Don’t you just love the internet? Not only it makes the world “smaller” it also lets you share your talent and interests with people all over the world.

As for me, I’ll just probably stick doing things I’m good at. Maybe attempt to learn something new…and if all else fails, just watch youtube.

2 Responses to “Talent on the Net”

  1. nikki Says:

    hi karen! thanks for sharing this. i like the 1st girl w/ the tagalog song.
    ang galing! sana may maka-discover sa kanya sa youtube.

    kumusta na? congrats sa graduation.

  2. chin Says:

    hello! namiss kita. Ive been out of circulation lately…

Leave a Reply

