Hot Yoga

Yup. That’s what I’ll be doing tomorrow afternoon as part of my trying-to-live-healthier “project.” Kristine and her friend Kristen were going to sign up for this coming week’s classes and they asked me to join them. In fact, my sister even paid for my membership fee. Isn’t she nice?

Anyway, according to their website, this is the description of what we’ll be doing:

moksha yoga: a unique series of 40 postures that combine the precision of therapeutic yoga and the foundations of traditional yoga in a specially heated room (37C to 39C). The moksha series is a cardiovascular workout that loosens, strengthens and tones the muscles, while calming the mind and reducing stress. The heat allows for deep, safe stretching and promotes detoxification of the skin, blood and muscles through sweat. Classes are suitable for all levels of ability in both 60 and 90 minute formats.

I feel hot when it’s 20C in my house, what more if it’s almost double the heat? I guess I better double on antiperspirants. Lol. As a side note, in Indian religions moksha “refers to liberation from the cycle of death and rebirth and all of the suffering and limitation of worldly existence.” I remember that my prof in Ethics in World Religion course mentioned this place to me and I think the misuse of the word moksha made her eyebrows raised.

Bass got me a yoga mat. (See, people around me are nice). We even shook hands on a $50 wager: if I completed the week-long session I win, if I don’t he wins. Can you sense that this is not the first time that I vowed to a healthier existence? But it’s not like he’s going to collect if I lost.

So yeah, we’re going tomorrow afternoon. I’ll have my bottled water, yoga mat, and comfy clothes in tow. They say that yoga is supposed to calm your mind as well. Let see about that…

5 Responses to “Hot Yoga”

  1. Toe Says:

    I do a little yoga myself… it’s really good for calming the mind and strengthening the body… haha… I like your wager with Bass. πŸ™‚

  2. nikki Says:

    good luck sa bet nyo ni bass. i hope you win.πŸ™‚

  3. Karen Says:

    Toe and Nikki: Lol. I lost the bet…sort of. My sister and I went to the Yoga Studio only to find out how inaccessible the place was for us to bus it in. It was a week-long stint and the weather forecast wasn’t looking good. We decided to either go back there another time when I can bring the car for the whole week or when it’s nicer for us to be able to walk (2 buses and a 15-minute walk!) OR find another Yoga place that isn’t far from hereπŸ™‚ .

  4. nikki Says:

    Karen, that should be an exception kasi it was beyond your control. Hehehe! I’m sure Bass would understand.πŸ˜€

  5. peter jones Says:

    Yoga is also good for your kids

Leave a Reply

