Boxing Day

Here’s a Wikipedia article about Boxing Day in Canada:

“In Canada, Boxing Day is observed as a holiday, except (in some cases) for those in the retail business. Boxing Day and the days immediately following are when many retail stores sell their Christmas and retired model products by holding clearance sales. Some shoppers will line up for hours at night (sometimes before midnight and after midnight on December 26) for retailers to open their doors.

Retailers often open their stores earlier than usual, such as 6 or 7 am. Some retail companies internally refer to the sales week after Christmas as the “thirteenth month.” (See Boxing Week.) It is similar to Black Friday (the day after Thanksgiving) in the United States. Boxing Day 2005 was the single largest economic transaction day ever in the history of Canadian commerce (according to Visa). Individual big box stores can even gross over $1,000,000(CAN) on one single boxing day.

In addition to the retail aspect of the holiday, Boxing Day also serves as a second day for families to gather for dinner and to exchange gifts. Boxing Day Dinner is, in many ways, just as much a part of many families traditions as Christmas Dinner[citation needed] itself.

Boxing Day has also been referred to as the day that people “box” up their Christmas decorations and put them away until next year.”

It’s kinda ironic to think that at least a month before Christmas, people go crazy shopping for presents. Then comes Christmas Day, they open up their presents, and then go crazy shopping again the next day.

We started receiving flyers for the Boxing Day sale as early as last week from different stores. A lot of really neat stuff are marked down (such as DVD players for $1.00 CDN each), but of course, there will always be limit per store. Which means you’ve got to be there really early to get the first dibs.

Now, “really early” is subjective. I read in the news that as early as 9:00 pm on December 25, people already started to camp out outside stores that specializes in electronics such as FutureShop and Best Buy. I guess a lot of people just finished their Christmas dinner and left, eh? It may sound crazy but a good deal is a good deal.

My sister, Kristine, who is not exactly a morning person miraculously roused from bed before 8:00 am to go to the mall with her friend Kristen and my cousin, Ate Shella (yes, the Ate Shella who just had twins). Mr. Shopaholic, I mean, my Dad, dropped them off at Polo Park and then he went to do some shopping of his own with Tito Rene (his cousin). Later this morning he went back home to pick my Mom up and then went out again. I think Kristine and company also went to St. Vital Mall with Carl.

As for me, I woke up at around 1:30pm or so but stayed in bed until a few minutes after 2:00pm. I really had no plans made for today. I don’t brave the crowd around Boxing Day. I don’t like the line-ups, the waiting, and the heavy traffic. But at past 3pm, Bass and I went out to check out what’s going on.

Since I got a gift certificate from Chapters, we went there first. The bookstore was still crowded, but it wasn’t probably as busy as it had been in the morning. And I think a huge chunk of the shoppers were aiming at electronic bargains today, anyway. I got myself a hardbound copy of Oliver Twist, also of Great Expectations and Hard Times. Bass also got this book about featuring the great castles of the world. Love for architecture is one of the things that we also share.

We also went to Futureshop because I wanted to check out their laptops and Bass, the big screen TVs. It was still crazy by the time we got there at 5 in the afternoon. We were there for 30 minutes. I was contemplating if I should get a laptop, him on whether he should buy a new TV or not. He almost did, but the last model that he was planning to get was already taken by this couple. If we didn’t stop by WalMart before we went there he probably got the TV.

I, on the other hand didn’t get the laptop. I wasn’t 100% sure that I really want to get it. Reminded me of the conversations I had earlier:

Me: I want a laptop.

Mom & Dad: Do you need it?

Me: No, I just want one.

Dad: How much is it going to cost?

Me: Nah. Nevermind. I just wanted one, I don’t really need it (Because I know he’s gonna get it for sure if persisted. He was about to get a big screen TV when this conversation took place. I just didn’t want them spend money on my “want”).

Then last night…

Me: Should I get a laptop?

Kristine: Yes.

Me: Why?

Kristine: So I can use it when someone’s using the computer and Ryan’s using his laptop.

…and then Kat walked in my room

Me: Should I get a laptop?

Kat: Yes.

Me: Why?

Kat: So I can have the computer all by myself.

Ah, sisters…

Me: Should I get a laptop?

Ryan: Do you need one?

Me: I just want one.

Ryan: Why not.

With Bass…

Me: I want to buy a laptop.

Bass: Let’s get you one.

So, should I get one? Lol. I’m still deciding. I’ll probably get one, but I’d wait a while and see.

Anyway, it’s 5:30 in the morning and I still haven’t slept. Kat is sleeping on my bed and I don’t want to sleep beside her coz I’m not used to sharing my bed. I tell Bass that if we are going to share the rest of our lives together, we’d probably need 2 king sized beds pushed beside each other so I can have all the room that I need. Right now, I sleep on a queen-sized bed and I don’t like sharing it.

Why is she sleeping on my room in the firs place? Well, you see my grandma is staying over the night. So she and my Mom are on my parents’ bedroom while my Dad is on Kat’s bedroom. Usually, Kat sleeps on Kristine’s bed when these kind of stuff happen, but she has a headache and I think it’s from too much shopping. Lol. All six bedrooms in the house are just enough for us– master’s bedroom, Kristine’s, Kat’s, Ryan’s, Mine, and Ate Noning’s (my Mom’s friend who lives with us for the moment), we can’t afford to have a guest room.

I was playing with the idea of sleeping on the couch downstairs, but I don’t think so. I’ll try to lay down and take it from there. I know I’m pretty selfish with my bed. It’s just that I’m not really used to sharing it even to family members. But I can try…

3 Responses to “Boxing Day”

  1. niceheart Says:

    We could also use another PC or laptop. There’s 5 of us sharing the only one family computer here at home. Kaya lang wala kaming pambili ng isa pa.

  2. Karen Says:

    pila na lang tayo next boxing day for laptops hehe😉

    i know what you mean, at one point there used to be 10 people who were living in my house (family + relatives who just got here and they didn’t have their own place at that time) and we shared 1 computer. parang musical chairs, pagtayo ng isa may uupo na naman sa harap ng computer.

  3. jaq Says:

    we WILL get one someday. magtrabaho tayo sa summer then ung sweldo natin for laptops. hahahahahaha. did you read it right? magtrabaho TAYO! or better yet, magtrabaho ka at aasa ako sa student loan. wahahahaha.

Leave a Reply

