Post-Christmas Ramblings

(L-R: Me, Ryan, Mom, my paternal Lola, Dad, Kat, and Kristine. We usually wear all red during Christmas Day, but in respect to my maternal Lolo’s death this year, we didn’t.)

I just realized it’s been a while since I updated my blog. I just had to do so much stuff lately that I inadvertently set the record for the longest time I haven’t wrote anything on my blog.

Christmas Eve was spent my at my Aunt’s house with the whole Garcia clan. We had dinner, opened our presents a drank a little. Lol. I got some really nice presents – a gift certificate from Chapters, a cable-knit sweater and some cash. My family left before 11:00pm to hear the midnight mass. I know I said we drank but it was just a cousin thing and I only had a couple of shots (I just don’t know about Kristine and Ryan😉 , and Kat is still too young for that), it didn’t do anything to me. Plus, by the time we got to church I already forgot about it.

The mass ended at about 12:40 am. We we went home and opened more presents, this time with Bass and Carl (Kristine’s boyfriend). Yes, we had our own secret stash of presents on top of whatever we already got.

The next day, Christmas Day, I woke up a little before noon and found my Mom freaking out in the kitchen. She was cooking because some of our realtives are going to come by. I love my mother and she’s the nicest person I know (and probably will ever know), but she drives me crazy when she’s hosting a party. I’m a perfectionist myself, but with my Mom and her very hospitable nature, being perfect isn’t enough.

Usually, when she’s like that I stay out of her way because we’ll end up arguing. That or I’ll do whatever she wanted me to do and just shut my big mouth up. But since I got up late and she was already done anyway, I didn’t have to do a lot.

My relatives came over, they played cards, watched TV (yes, Daddy’s very proud of his spankin’ new big screen TV) and eat. Bass came over, had dinner and stayed for a while. My Ate Shella was here, as well. I wasn’t really expecting her to come but I’m glad she did. Jaq and Arianne came as well. The last person left at about 1:00 am. I had something to eat and then cleaned everything up. I don’t let my Mom come near the kitchen (or anywhere else that’s messy), because that’s my turf. She’s worked hard enough with all the cooking she’d done. I don’t really mind, I like cleaning up. I work fast anyway.

After that, I watched TV (Law and Order:CI and Law and Order: SVU). I finally decided to go to bed at 5:00am. I woke up at about 2:00pm the next day. I know I have such a crazy sleeping pattern. I should fix that soon, though.

How was everyone’s holiday? Mine was alright, I guess. To be honest, it didn’t feel quite right. This is the first Christmas without my Lolo with us. Sure, we spent the last 6 Christmases here in Canada without him, but we still got to call him during this day. But before we moved here every Christmas Day of my life was always spent with him. On Christmas Eve, it was just us in our house in the Philippines– my parents and us siblings– who shares the noche buena. But comes Christmas Day, we’d spend the whole day to my grandfather’s house.

Now, even a phone call is not possible. In the church during the mass I kept thinking about him and I kept brushing it off since I didn’t want to cry in the church. We (especially Mom) must all be thinking the same thing, we just didn’t talk about it. I’m not the most religious person I know, but in my heart, that whole mass was for him.

I hope somehow it will reach to him.

4 Responses to “Post-Christmas Ramblings”

  1. Leslie08 Says:

    I know it will Karen. I know it will.

    I prayed for my grandpa, too you know.

  2. niceheart Says:

    Nice family picture you got there.

    It must be hard to lose someone close to you. I have never been close to any of my grandparents.

  3. Karen Says:

    le: i hope so too. take care.

    niceheart: it was really hard. i had to try really hard to not think about it.

  4. jaq Says:

    dont worry bruk, he heard it.😉

Leave a Reply

