Five and Us

“I want somebody to share
Share the rest of my life
Share my innermost thoughts
Know my intimate details”

I’ve always kept whatever bothered me to myself. I’ve always been that person my friends would divulge their deepest darkest secrets to. I could write a tell-all book with all the secrets I’m privy too, I’m telling you. However, I did not seem to learn to do the same thing. I could be able to share my hapiness to others but I seem to have a giant ego that I cannot let other people know my fears. But with you I became fearless and admitted my own fears.

“Someone who’ll stand by my side
And give me support
And in return
She’ll He’ll get my support”

Well, of course you’re a he. But I guess the Depeche Mode guys also prefers to be in a heterosexual relationship, like I do. I hope they won’t mind that just this once, that I’ll change it. Seriously, I want to thanks you for all the support you’ve given me. For all the car rides to the library, to the university, to the bookstore, to anywhere I needed to go. For the driving lessons, especially the first few times when you probably thought that I will smash your car. For helping me out when I wanted to take pictures. For saying how proud you are of me. For showing how proud you are of me.

She He will listen to me
When I want to speak
About the world we live in
And life in general
Though my views may be wrong
They may even be perverted
She’ll He’ll hear me out
And wont easily be converted
To my way of thinking
In fact shell he’ll often disagree
But at the end of it all
She He will understand me

I know sometimes I have unconventional opinions, some are even weird. But with you I can just talk about anything. I know a lot of people who are always watching out what they are going to say infront of their significant others. People who can’t even be themselves with the person they love and want to share their life with. I am lucky that I can be anything and everything infront of you. I can say crazy (borderline perverted, according to you) things. I can swear. I can sing out loud eventhough I do it off-key. I can constantly flip the remote while we’re alreay watching something. I can whine and say “I want a doggy!” whenever the Pedigree commercial was on TV. I can call you from work or in the middle of the night just to ask you to come over because one of my fishies looks “sad.” I can just be me.

I can be moody. I hate being told what to do. There are mornings when I wake up not wanting to talk to people. There are days when I wanted to be left alone and be quiet. There are times all I wanted to do was talk, talk and talk. There are times when I want to cry because I miss my friends and relatives in the Philippines. There are times when I get mad for no reason at all. There are times when I just kept on ranting and going on and on about women’s right, equality, and sexism. I can be very annoying. I can be pretty scary when I mad. A lot of people don’t get me– but you do. I don’t know how you do it, but thank you.

“I want somebody who cares
For me passionately
With every thought and
With every breath
Someone wholl help me see things
In a different light
All the things I detest
I will almost like”

Thank you. For understanding me. For respecting my beliefs even if sometimes we don’t agree. For accepting my argumentative nature. For not changing me. For being my shopping buddy. For holding my hand and telling me everything’s going to be okay whenever I’m feeling down. For saying I look beautiful even during times when I look like crap and I smell like sweat. For telling me to get a bigger size because what I picked out was small for me. For giving your honest opinion and telling me what doesn’t look good one me. For being patient, because I overslept when God was giving away the virtue of patience. For being nice to my family and friends, even to those you haven’t yet met.

“I dont want to be tied
To anyones strings
Im carefully trying to steer clear of
Those things
But when Im asleep
I want somebody
Who will put their arms around me
And kiss me tenderly
Though things like this
Make me sick
In a case like this
I’ll get away with it”

You know I’m not totally devoid of emotion…or estrogen for that matter. I may not be one of those giddy girls who constantly rambles about how great their boyfriend is as if they have no life outside their relationship. You know I laugh at those people. I may show nonchalance over some matter, but you know why. I’ll come around, you’ll see.

I love you. And thanks for all the love and care you’ve given me. Thanks for the friendship. Thanks for respecting my independence and my stubborn streak. And for lots and lots of things I can’t think of now, thank you. You have no idea how much I love you. I may not say it all the time. I may not show you all the time because I was too busy rolling my eyes on you. But I do. I do love you…so much.

To my Bass, my friend, my cheerleader, my guidance counsellor, my shock absorber, my sounding board, my driver ;) , my assistant photographer, my eye candy, my couch potato buddy, my “Somebody:”

HAPPY 5TH YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!! I LOVE YOU!

Song: Somebody by Depeche Mode.

8 Responses to “Five and Us”

  1. Alfa Mercado Says:

    Sobrang sweet naman…🙂

    Congratulations!

    Engagement, when? hehe..

  2. marian Says:

    happy 5th anniversary!!!!🙂 i’m super happy that you’ve found the right guy, and that you two are still going strong. only a few couples nowaday last more than several months, much less 5 years! but like they say, it takes two to tango, so i’m 101% sure he’s equally blessed to have someone like you loving him.🙂

  3. pisceanangel Says:

    next year kasalan na!!! hahahahaha. *karen pokes jaq to death*

    pero, hangsweet naman nito. kakaiyak. na kakainggit. ayaw ko na tuloy mag-aral ngaun araw. masyado ako nadepressed. lol. slacking around justified!

    happy 5th year anniv sa inyo ni basilio.

    tan tan tanan… tan tan tanan… tan tan tanan nan tanan nan tanan.

  4. Karen Says:

    alfa: hehe, thanks. madalang lang yan…hindi ako sweet araw araw😉.

    marian: thanks🙂. i just realized that our bfs have the same first names…sort of. kasi di ba your bf’s name is allen? bass’ first name is allan, kaso they pronounce it here as “allen.”

    pisceanangel: salamat! kasalan ka diyan! ayaw!!!😀
    hoy mag-aral ka, baka maging kasalanan ko pa yan. lol.

  5. jobo Says:

    sweetness!

    more lovely & joyful years for you and bass!

  6. Karen Says:

    jobo: thanks, ganda! mwahhh.

  7. lechef Says:

    5 :D… grabe.

    Sweet naman

  8. Karen Says:

    oo nga i can’t belie it 5 years na kami😉

Leave a Reply

