Hackers and Bankers

My Ate Cathy (from London) phoned tonight to greet my sister a happy birthday. Unfortunately, Kring wasn’t home yet. Anyway, we started chatting and told me that her bank called her yesterday and told her that they were checking because her debit card had some suspicious activites and it turned out somebody has been using her card online. Good thing the bank caught it before it did a lot of damage to her.

It is very convenient to use the internet for banking. However, it could be dangerous as well. I, myself, has been using internet banking for a couple years now. I am not exactly scared of hackers stealing my money, because there’s really not much to steal to begin with. Especially now that I am unemployed. Not much dinero there. I only use it to pay my VISA every month. Grudgingly pay off my VISA, may I add. It’s only fun when you use your credit card to pay for the stuff you buy, it’s not when it’s your turn to pay it back. But I still pay it, I don’t want to have a bad credit history.Excellent credit line history is probably as important as you reputation as a person here, you know.

Anyway, I told my cousin that it was good that the bank got a wind of it right away. It could eb a lot worse, like what happened to my Mom when I was about 10 years old. My mom has been a victim of identity theft before. I can’t recall the details but I know that someone forged her signature to some bank and took out a big loan to some bank in another town in Pampanga. Obviously, my mom was devastated. Good thing everything was straigthened up and her name was cleared up. But it was a scary time for my mom.

Eventually, I will cancel my internet banking and go back to the good old-fashioned way of banking. No offence to my bank, I’m sure they’re doing everything they can to protect their clients, but you can never be too careful, right? Hackers are getting smarter and smarter everyday you know.

8 Responses to “Hackers and Bankers”

  1. jase Says:

    hi karen, tama ka jan. i only use internet banking when it is fully secure. not buying through internet either.

    you’ve got an interesting blog here. thanks for visiting my blog. can i tag you?

  2. Karen Says:

    jase: me too, except that i sometimes buy sa ebay. hopefully paypal is secured enough…but it still bugs me sometimes when i do that. and yes, you can tag me. thanks. i’ll link you up too, ok? take care.

  3. duke Says:

    naku.. I use internet banking a lot. I like the convenience of it. Paypal also.

  4. Leslie08 Says:

    wow. Good thing I don’t use online banking. Hehehe

    By phone lang

  5. Karen Says:

    duke: the convenience of internet banking is very tempting no? i guess ingat na lang sa mga sites na gagamitan ng mga cards.

    leslie: i also use phone banking. i’m very impatient kasi i hate waiting sa mga pila kasi.

  6. nikki Says:

    dito din sa phils, may mga ganyang problems. buti na lang i don’t use internet banking pero i was tempted because i hate waiting din kasi. ngayon, i just time my trips to the bank na lang. i noticed kasi na mas konti ang tao if you go ng mga 1pm.😀

  7. Karen Says:

    nikki: lunch time is killer for this places, no? maganda nga iyong after lunch.

  8. excalibur Says:

    very insightful read, thankyou.

Leave a Reply

