Coochie…coochie…cute?

I’ve read over the internet that a bunch of Hollywood stars were telling the press that Suri, the yet-to-be-seen-in-public baby of Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes, was one of the cutest babies they’ve every laid their eyes on. I’m sure it’s a cute baby, but…yeah…whatever. I don’t even like Tom Cruise. Honestly, the guy gives me the creeps.

But aren’t all babies “cute?” And before you guys give me that I-thought-you’re-not-a-baby-person look, hear me out first. Not all babies are cute to one person. We all have our own ideas of what a cute baby should look like, don’t we? If we think a certain baby is gorgeous, we’d tell that to their parents. If we don’t think a baby is that good looking, we are still going to tell the parents that s/he has the face of an angel, right?

I remember this episode of Seinfeld when the Jerry, Elaine, George and Kramer were invited to the Hamptons to see their friends’ baby. They did not show the baby, but based from what everyone’s [really funny] reaction was, it was supposed to be a very ugly looking baby (Of course it would be cruel to show someone’s baby and call it ugly). Yet, they all pretended to like the baby.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that beauty is subjective. That we all have our own idea of what constitutes beauty. But we, as a society, would not dare to look at a baby and say what we really think of their little bundle of joy. Because that would be too cruel.

Leave a Reply

