It’s turning yellow

I don’t know if any of you have seen that KFC commercial wherein a guy was screaming as if scared for his life when he saw an orange maple leaf on the side walk. It is obviously an exaggeration but it has a tinge of truth, seing the leaves turn yellow/orange could be a scary moment. It means that the autumn season is just around the corner, which means the dreaded winter is just a few months away.

I live in Winnipeg– one of the coldest cities in the world (during winter, of course). Even Winnipeggers who lived here their whole lives still find it cold. Although years of living here gives you edge over people who haven’t experienced winter: let alone winter here in Winnipeg. I know a family who just arrived here last spring and already found spring season utterly cold, while seasoned Winnipeggers were already donning their light sweaters, or some even wore their shorts. Poor guys, a lot of people are already scaring the heck out of them. I don’t know why, but I just noticed that a lot of people find such joy in telling people what to expect during winter. I guess it’s considered a form of “initiation,” as if a ritual to establish a bond, once a person had a feel of winter in Winterpeg.

Is it really that bad? It could be. There will be days when it will be -50C outside and you still had to go outside –to work, school, or wherever you have to be. There will be days when it won’t be as cold, but it will be snowing and the wind will be so strong that you’d be thankful that you ate more than enough burgers to fatten you up so you won’t get knocked over by the wind. And then of course there are those occasional falling on your butt because you unwittlingly stepped on an ice patch.

Some of the “classic” scenarios are: Missing your bus because your street is damn slippery and you had to walk like there were land mines and then you’ll have to stand in the cold and wait for the next bus. Or your car won’t start because it is too damn cold that you’d miss work or school. Or little things such as forgetting to wear gloves (and getting so close on getting your fingers chopped off because of frostbite) or other “protective gears” such as touques (bonnets/hats), scarves, etc. Oh, and let’s not forget the usual it-snowed-10-inches-last-night-and-it’s-freaking-cold out-but-you-have-to-shovel-the-driveway scenarios.

But winter and snow are not pure evil. Everytime it snows for the first time in the season, it lifts me up. And when it’s nice out (believe me there will be nicer days in terms of weather even here in Winnipeg), I love walking around specially at night. I could see the snow glistening to the rays of the sun or the beams of the moonlight.

August came by fast and I bet it will go by faster, so I guess I’ll just enjoy what’s left of the warmer season.

4 Responses to “It’s turning yellow”

  1. niceheart Says:

    I know that KFC commercial. Yeah, it may seem exaggerated but I guess that’s what most of us feel with the impending arrival of winter. It can get so cold naman kasi ano? Let’s just enjoy the rest of the summer for now and worry about winter later.🙂

    Welcome to WordPress, btw.

  2. kontrabida Says:

    hi there! thanks, buena mano kita sa mga commenters, hindi pa pala ako naglagay ng link sa old blog ko. i think i’m going to like it here.
    i woke up this morning and saw that it was raining…sabi ko sa sarili ko, “naku ayan kasi anong pinagsusulat ko sa blog ko kagabi.” good thing it cleared up in the afternoon.

  3. Helen Says:

    It’s so true! I moved here in the summer and as soon as people realize I’m a recent Pegger they automatically start in on the winter and am I prepared! Well I bought a great parka and I have fairly decent boots from my last winter in Ontario (what I hope are decent anyway). So I think I’m all set!

    Great blog!

  4. Karen Says:

    hi there, helen! i thought it was weird that people do that, then i found myself “scaring” the guy in my class who just also moved here in winnipeg about the winter. it’s kinda catchy😉 .

Leave a Reply

